Delaware Chapter received the "Model Chapter" award at the 2019 Bicentennial Conf

Thurs, October 8, 2020
Thurs, October 15, 2020
Thurs, October 22, 2020
Thurs, October 29, 2020
Thurs, November 5, 2020
Thurs, November 12, 2020



Information Session

Oct 1, 2019

​​​2020 Statewide Virtual Cohort

Mary Ann Shadd and Margaret Rose Henry Civic Engagement Program

Mary Ann Shadd Cary (October 9, 1823 – June 5, 1893) was an American-Canadian anti-slavery activist, journalist, publisher, teacher and lawyer. She was the first black woman publisher in North America and the first woman publisher in Canada.

Mary Ann Shadd Cary

or download and mail in ==>

Margaret Rose Henry


The National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc - Delaware Chapter is pleased to be a recipient of the 2018 Fund for Women grant.  The Fund for Women grant is an endowment held at the Delaware Community Foundation. The interest from this endowment is given in grants to women’s and girls’ programs in Delaware each year. 

Margaret Rose Henry was the first African-American woman to serve in the Delaware State Senate.  She is known for her extraordinary commitment to public service with an emphasis on working to improve the lives of women, children, families, and the elderly.

NC100BW-DE was awarded this grant to launch the Mary Ann Shadd Cary and Margaret Rose Henry Civic Engagement Program targeting black women statewide for leadership development.  The effort to embark on such an initiative was the vision of  Melanie S. Daniels -  Immediate Past President, Mary Anne Miller -  NCBW & James Baker - Former Mayor Wilmington, DE.  The project is designed to measurably increase the civic engagement of participants through awareness of and improved access to training and leadership development. While there is an emphasis on the engagement of black women, all interested women ages 18 and older will be encouraged to enroll. More information coming soon!

Introducing the Inaugural Graduating Class

Mary Ann Shadd Cary & Margaret Rose Henry Civic Engagement Program

New Castle County Cohort

Thurs' class - 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Pictured left to right First Lady Tracey Carney, Melanie S. Daniels - Immediate Past President of NCBW, Raye Avery - President of NCBW,  Doris Griffin - NCBW Member, Dionna Sargent - NCBW Member, Kia Booker - NCBW Member, Kay Keenan -  FFW Chair and Pamela Sharpe -  FFW Grants Chair